Bad milk???

Bad milk???

mistyrun

QUOTE 12/7/2010 8:45:31 AM
  I have a new litter of Saint pups born Sunday afternoon.  They are not doing so well and I wonder if it has anything to do with moms milk, or if there is anything at all i can do for them.  i've been raising Saints for 7 years and know that some litters are just more lively than others, but these are too lethargic for my liking and keep getting cold.  Two this morning are "on thier way out" and i'm afraid some others will be following in thier footsteps if i don't act fast.  I hate this part of breeding; are there ANY suggestions of what might help?  Mom had a difficult delivery last litter due to oversize water babies and we ended up losing the whole beautiful litter of 11.  Someone thought  maybe her milk was affected as she did have to spend a night in at the vet because of retained matter.  Could it still be infected and poisoning the litter now?  Is there anything to give her and/or the pups to neutralize the milk?
dihart

QUOTE 12/7/2010 9:33:03 AM
I would speak to my vet (immediately) for advice about the milk, but keeping those puppies warm is paramount. Are you using a heating pad or heat lamp? more pups will die from losing their internal temp than any other easily addressed problem. Another thing I would suggest is if you have access to a puppy incubator which gives them oxygen and that is helpful to the babies. those run $100+ but if you save 1 pup you recoup the cost.

I think there is a test paper that they can use with the milk to see if it is good. Seems to me it was much like the one we use on our pool water to test levels. I am not however certain about that so maybe someone else would know better.