any dogs good mousers?

any dogs good mousers?

emtan55

QUOTE 12/28/2006 12:33:20 AM
Hi. This is my first time on this forum. We live in the country and occasionally get mice in the house. The problem went away when we got a house cat, but the cat has gotten lazy. We are in the market for another house dog, and wonder if any small dogs are known for catching mice.
Thanks.
k9stylist

QUOTE 12/28/2006 5:11:14 AM
Many of your small(er) terrier breeds were actually intended to be critter killers, but as such most of these breeds tend to be very high energy and thus require more training, exercise and attention than your average "house pet." It should also be noted that some of these dogs don't get along too well with cats due to their high preditory drive. With that in mind, my advice to you is to invest in pet friendly mouse traps if you have a mouse problem and research what dogs would fit your lifestyle only if you want one. Just as your cat has grown tired of mousing, a dog may eventually get bored of it, too, and there's no telling if it'll even be interested in the idea to begin with. What's more, killing wild things can be risky business for a beloved pet. Just do your research and if the dog you decide upon fits into your family AND ends up being an excellent mouser, consider it a bonus! Check out www.akc.org for acurate breed info., breed clubs and breeder referals and www.petfinder.com if you would like to adopt.
cannonfarms

QUOTE 12/28/2006 12:16:04 PM
rat terriers! not only the best little dogs but are wonderful mousers/ratters. These are my second breed, Great Danes my first..