Buying advice...

Buying advice...

gnomeface

QUOTE 2/14/2012 8:19:26 PM
I'm new to puppy shopping online. Normally, I would definitely prefer to buy from a local breeder, but the breed I'm looking in to (Bernese Mountain Dog) isn't available in my area. I ended up on this website, but have read all sorts of horror stories about scams, sick puppies, rip offs, etc. I know that for every bad experience, there is a good one, but..

I found a listing on this website for Berner pups that cost $750. Most other listings are for $950-1200, and even as high as $1700. This is a huge discrepancy. The listing I'm looking at has a phone number and  the option to email, but no link to a personal website or anything. I have considered that since the owner says the puppies don't have a champion bloodline, this could account for the huge dip in price, but I'm not so convinced yet. 

Right now, I'm waiting on an email reply from the breeder. I wanted to establish contact that way first. If they do reply, I plan on asking them for more pictures, including photos with my name written on a piece of paper next to the pup. 

What do you guys (experienced buyers, breeders, etc) think about all this? Do you think it seems a little too good to be true? I'll feel more comfortable when I can get the information I want, but I'm wondering what gut reactions you guys would have? 
kathystone

QUOTE 2/15/2012 5:23:51 AM