silky & yorkie

silky & yorkie

lynnkussman

QUOTE 9/5/2010 4:52:21 AM
I am new to all of this, have never thought about breeding dogs. I have a silky and yorkie (both males). I would like to get a female to breed with the silky. He is small, 5 or 6 lbs. I haven't thought about selling, we have family that want puppies from him, but if it goes well who knows.  Suggestions, yorkie or silky female?  To sell or not to sell? He is APR, again I'm not sure what that means. HELP PLEASE
kathystone

QUOTE 9/5/2010 5:36:08 AM
 Breeding dogs is not as easy or profitable as you might think. First off, have your dogs been tested for the genetic problems of silkies? Patella subluxation is one that comes to mind. You can find out more by contacting your breed club.

There are several different registries out ther. Some are more strict and actually require the stud dogs be dna tested to be sure when the papers say it is a yorkie or silkie it actually is and  not a mixed breed someone has slapped papers on. They even do kennel inspections to see the dogs are well cared for and not in rabbit cages. Others register a dogs from a picture.

Once you have selected a female who's pedigree is outstanding and who is a good representative of the breed, you will need to test both dogs for Brucellosis, a disease that is like VD in humans. It will wipe out your litter before they are even born in some cases. (Of course your male is already an outstanding dog of correct type, not too big or small with 2 testicles, good eyes and knees, no skin issues, etc.) 

Hopefully she will not be overly aggressive and get into fights with the other two dogs. Consider neutering the yorkie or you might have mixed breed pups as a male dog WANTS a female dog...in most cases.  You will also need to set up an appointment with your vet to do fecals on the dogs before your mating takes place. Check for internal parasites as well as heart worms.